The Five Elements Of Feng Shui

five elements feng shui

The principle of the five elements is important to the concept of Feng Shui. They work in certain ways in accordance with the rotation of the Productive and Destructive Cycles. All five of the elements correspond with a certain color. Some of the elements will use more than one color. The best way to utilize these elements is to open your space to more happiness.


Wood represents and provides energy for health and vitality; it also represents abundance and is considered a cure for wealth and prosperity. The Wood Element also connects with your home and garden. You can place wooden objects in certain areas in order to obtain more wealth. Alternatively, they can be placed near plants and flowers. Another thing that can increase wealth is installing a wooden bench in the area of your garden that is designated for Wealth.

Spaces: East, Southeast
Colors: Brown, Green


Fire represents high energy and passion; it provides energy to things that are career related. It will also provide assistance to have you recognized in your achievements. Yang energy comes from the Element of Fire and is represented by the color red. Other instances of objects that help to provide more energy are candles and lights.

Spaces: South, Northeast, Southwest
Colors: Red, Orange, Purple, Pink, Strong Yellow


Water represents easiness, abundance and freshness; it also represents calm and purity. Above all, water represents abundance and is considered a cure for Feng Shui. Flowing water is considered to be quiet and relaxing. You can use it to implement energy in your home. If you are looking to advance or start your career, water can be used for that purpose. It also represents wealth and prosperity. With Water being a part of the Chi flow, the flow doesn’t stop. Water helps to have Chi flowing in different areas of life. A good thing to implement for this would be an aquarium or a water fountain. This can have positive vibes in certain areas of your home. However, one place that water is not recommended for is the bedroom.

Spaces: North, East, Southeast
Colors: Blue, Black


Earth represents being stable and nourishment; it also represents protection for your relationships. Furthermore, if you want more intimacy as far as being close is concerned, Earth energy would be needed. Things that contribute to earth energy can help your marriage in a positive way and also in different relationships. For instance, you can use objects like crystals and ceramics, things made from earthenware, to enhance this.

Spaces: Northeast, Southeast, Center
Colors: Beige, Yellow


Metal represents being precise and clear; it also represents exactness and being efficient. You can live with clarity and light. The Metal Element is ideal for your home or business. Metal is also one of the Yang Elements that happens to have a positive effect.

Spaces: West, North, Northwest
Colors: White, Gray


The Productive and Destructive cycles control the five elements of Feng Shui. Wood is part of the Productive Cycle that is produced by the Element Water. The Cycle continues with the creation of Fire, Earth, Metal and last but not least, Water, in that order. The Cycle does not stop and complement each other. They also maintain a positive flow with one another.

Even though it’s on the opposite end, the Destructive Cycle has just as much prominence as the Productive Cycle. Anything that is negative or contributes to decay is removed. This makes way for things that are positive and will help in the Feng Shui process. With this Cycle, Wood is responsible for separating Earth. Next, Earth soaks up Water; Water douses out Fire; Fire melts Metal; and Metal cuts up Wood. This too, is another cycle that goes around in circles and doesn’t stop.


You will need to use different colors for each direction:
East and Southeast – Dominant green
South – Dominant red
Southwest – Dominant yellow
West and Northwest – Dominant white or metallic

With the directions and color schemes, alternate colors can be used for the basic ones. Blue and black can be used for the East and Southeast. Anything in the red family can be used for the Southwest and Northwest. Anything in the yellow, beige and brown family along with any combinations can be used for the West and Northwest. White is the color used in the North because Metal creates Water. In the South, green can be used because Wood creates Fire. Furthermore, the colors don’t have to stand by themselves. They can be supplemented or combined with others to create powerful statements. With Feng Shui, you must keep balance and harmony. These attributes of the five elements are needed in order to keep the flow of Chi in a positive format.